## Membership Tops 100 In Less Than A Month!

"We expected a good response, but to have 100 members in less than a month of announcing the Association was outstanding," said Air Force Public Affairs Alumni Association Board Chairman Mike McRaney. "And there have been more every day since then."

To date 156 former and current members of the Public Affairs and Air Force Broadcasting communities from across the nation and as far away as Germany have joined (list on reverse).

"There is a solid mix of retired enlisted, civilians, and officers, as well as

a growing number of associate members from the active force (regular Air Force, National Guard, Air Force Reserve). That bodes well for the future success of our association," McRaney observed.

There are 143 Full Members and 13 Associate Members, with 59 taking three-year, 73 opting for one-year, and 24 becoming lifetime members.

"What's really great are the 24 prestigious Lifetime Founders Memberships we have. They cover everyone, from the old-timers to the recently retired," McRaney continued.

To join, send your membership application to:

AF Public Affairs Alumni Association P.O. Box 540

Fairfax, VA 22030-0540

Full Memberships for retired or separated PAs or Broadcasters are \$25 for one year or \$50 for three years. Associate memberships for the active duty Air Force, Guard, and Reserves are \$10 for one year or \$20 for three years. Lifetime Founders Memberships, available until December 31, are \$250.



## San Antonio Here We Come! Medical, Personnel, PA Issues, Other Updates; News & Broadcast Center Tour . . . And Lots of FUN !!!

Y'all come. We've got something for everyone at the first annual meeting of our Air Force Public Affairs Alumni Association in San Antonio, June 9-12.

For starters, those who get to the meeting headquarters (registration desk opens at 3 p.m.) at the Ramada Airport Motel early on Thursday, June 9, there will be an unofficial, no-host icebreaker in the cocktail lounge.

Friday, June 10, we'll bus over to Air Education and Training Command (AETC) Headquarters at Randolph AFB where our hosts, Colonel Johnny Whitaker, AETC Director of Public Affairs, and Colonel Ted Tilma, Commander of the Air Force News Center, have a full program for us.

In the morning, there will briefings on AETC, issues facing the Air Force, personnel—including a retiree update, and what's happening in military medical care, including that for retirees.

Following lunch, we'll go to East Kelly AFB for tours and briefings at the state-of-the-art publication and broadcasting facilities of the Air Force News Center.

Friday evening, we'll have a casual dinner together, Texas-style, at the Flying 'W' Ranch.

Saturday morning will be our business meeting for members only. There, the new board will be announced, and members will have an opportunity to bring ideas before the group.

The formal portion of the annual meeting will conclude at the end of the business meeting with the remainder of Saturday, June 11, and Sunday, June 12, open for golf, sight-seeing, or just plain schmoozing with old or new friends before heading for home.

Advance registration before May 9 (please use the enclosed registration form) for the meeting is \$75. On-site registration is \$100. Spouse registration, either in advance or on-site, is \$50.

The registration fee includes lunch at Randolph and the Flying 'W' Ranch dinner as well as the registration packets that will be provided each attendee.

The registration fee does not include accommodations at the Ramada Airport Motel. But, thanks to the good work of

Doran Hopkins, who is heading the Association's meeting committee in San Antonio, the Ramada is offering a group rate of \$59 per night per room, single or double occupancy, with breakfast included, for those who call (210) 829-9031 by May 9. After that date, the price increases considerably. The Ramada has a shuttle to and from the airport.

So, there it is. All you ever wanted to know about our annual meeting. Now all that has to be done is: Complete and mail the registration form and fee; make airline reservations or get maps from your auto club; reserve the hotel room; and contact those you would like to see and make sure they are on board.

Questions? Call: Doran Hopkins (210) 736-1000; John Terino (703) 978-2704; or Mike McRaney (804) 323-7526.

See You in San Antonio, Amigos!

## Who Is On Board? Check Below For Those You Know

Dick Abel Pete Alexandrakos Terry Arnold Don Atwater Don Aune Geoff Baker Larry Baker Gil Billings Ken Blackshaw Monty Bodington Ed Borden Marv Braman

Guy Brown William M. Brown

**Neil Buttimer** Jim Caldwell

Bill Campbell

Joe Caraway Harry Cepura

Arthur Clinchy

Al Cochrane

Dave Cole

Tom Coleman Lou Combs

J. M. (Mike) Connolly Kris (Baker) Corbett

Wayne Corbett

John Corcoran

Wayne Crumley

Jerry Dalton **Ted Daniel** 

Art Dederick

Bill Dempsey

John W. Dillin

**Dinny Dinsmore** A. L. Douthitt

Wess duBrisk

Allen Eakle

Bob Ebv

Ralph Evans

Olive Felty

Tom Fitzpatrick

Bill Flower Art Forster

Mark Foutch

C. Gordon Furbish

Mike Gallagher Chet Gardner

Judith Gentile

**Andrew Gilroy** 

C. V. Glines Al Goldsmith Gary Gosdin

Bill Greener **Bob Groom** 

John Gulick John Gura

Tom Halbert John Hancock C. B. Kelly Glenn Knight Dick Koch Phil Lacombe

Y. J. LaPorte

R. Monroe League Samuel K. Lessey

Paul Leveen Clay Leyser

## Chief Switzer Claims Oldest PA Title

We should have known. As soon as you set up an organization, somebody is bound to stake a claim to something related to it.

Reed M. Switzer, who retired in August of '73 as a Chief Master Sergeant at the then Air Force Military Pesonnel Center at Randolph AFB, says "I may have seniority among PA members."

The Chief's claim is based on being assigned to the U.S. Army's European Theater of Operations' Headquarters Public Relations function in October '43.

Let us know if you predate the Chief's October '43 entry into Public Affairs.

And since it has started, are there any other claims? How about the senior broadcaster?

Bill Hansen Mary Harris Jim Hart Darrell Haves R. J. Hayes

Pete Hefler Dick Heil

Mike Heininger Bill Helmantoler Terry Hemeyer

Bob Hermann George Howard Maston Jacks

Doug Jacobsen Jim Jannette

George Jeck Frank Jennings

Ed Johnson Dave Karten Matt Lipartiti **Errol Loving** Chuck Lucas Bill Madsen Sam Martin Larry McCracken Bruce McFadden Philip McGeoghan Mike McRaney Fred Meurer Ross Miller Wally Miller

Lynn Ligon

Ron Lindeke

John Milton Jim Moore Fred Morgan George Ogles

Barney Oldfield

Jack Olsen George Peck John Peters **Charles Powers** Alice Price Dick Rapp **Bob Rayfield** Jim Reinhard John Renneker Steve Richards Ken Rogge John Rose Al Sabsevitz Gene Sands

Francis Satterlee **Chuck Saucier** Ben Scarpero Dave Schillerstrom Denny Schulstad Ron Sconyers Dave Shea Ron Sherman

Tom Sherman Joe Shosid

George Sillia Pete Sloan

Hal Smarkola Henry Somerville

Gifford Stack Cam Stewart

Domenico Strangio **Bob Sule** 

Harry Sunderland Harold Susskind Reed Switzer

John Terino

Kelly Ann Thompson

Vince Tocci Sandra Troeber Kris Vasilo Smitty Von Fosson

George Weiss **Emil Wengel** Gil Whiteman **Roy Whitten** Roy Williamson Herb Wurth Alice Young

**Bob Zehring** Harry Zubkoff (As of March 21, 1994)