Meet AFPAA's Officers and Board of Directors

Meet AFPAA's Officers
and Board of Directors

AFPAA Leadership

AFPAA is led by a board of directors elected by the membership. Each director serves a two year term. Five board members also serve as officers of the Association, filling the positions of chairperson, president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer on a yearly basis.

AFPAA's leadership progression protocol dictates that the chairperson step down at the end of his or her term. At the same time, the president, vice president, and secretary each move up one position to replace the previous incumbent, with a new secretary joining the line of succession. This leadership rotation takes place in July of each year.

This sequential assumption of progressively greater responsibilities is designed to ensure the Association benefits from experienced management, continuity of leadership, and the regular infusion of fresh ideas.

The leadership progression protocol had to be slightly modified for the new term beginning on July 1, 2023. While he was slated to replace Brett Ashworth as chair, former president Greg Smith did not run for reelection to the board due to medical reasons. To resolve the issue, the board reappointed Brett as chair for an additional year as provided for in the association’s by-laws.

The remainder of the leadership rotation took place as it normally would. John Dorrian moved up to become the new president, and Eric Schnaible is the new vice president. Board member Carla Sylvester volunteered to be the new secretary, becoming part of the leadership succession process. Incumbent board members Julie Briggs, Jim McGuire, Perry Nouis, and treasurer Phil Ratliff were re-elected to new two year terms. To fill the slots vacated by Greg Smith and Dave Phillips, Mike Paoli and Colonel Allen Herritage were elected as new board members.

The election of Colonel Herritage represents a milestone in the history of the association. With the membership voting earlier in 2023 to change the name and organizational structure of the association, active duty personnel are now full voting members of AFPAA and eligible to run for office. Colonel Herritage is the first active duty member to be elected to the board. He will also be performing double duty as he continues representing SAF/PA on the board.

The current leadership team is pictured below. The duration of each elected member's current term is listed under his or her name. The leadership team also includes Dick Cole, who as the editor of News and Notes — the association’s newsletter — is appointed by the board.

AFPAA also benefits from the work of numerous members who serve on committees overseen by the board, and the support and advice of our past board chairs and presidents.

To find contact information for any individual member of the AFPAA leadership team, please use either the printed or online Membership Directory. To reach the entire board of directors, please go to the Contact Us page and choose the Board of Directors option in the form field.

Board Meetings...

Meetings of AFPAA’s Board of Directors are held on a regularly scheduled quarterly basis. All association members in good standing are welcome, and encouraged, to attend.

The meetings are held via Zoom. If you wish to attend a meeting, please use this link to let us know in advance so that we can send you the Zoom information you will need to join the meeting by computer or phone.

There will be a special board meeting on October 13 at 3:00PM Eastern, held via Zoom. The next regular board meeting will be held in person during the Tampa annual meeting on October 26 at 2:00PM Eastern, in the Palma Ceia Room of the Hotel Alba.

Meeting Minutes...

Minutes of previous meetings are now being archived online. To view the minutes of recent board meetings, please go here.

Board Members

Past Board Chairs
and Presidents

  • 1994 - 2000

    • Mike McRaney
  • 2000 - 2001

    • Jim Hart
  • 2001 - 2002

    • John Gura
  • 2002 - 2003

    • Joe Purka
  • 2003 - 2004

    • Dave Smith
  • 2004 - 2005

    • Mike Gannon
  • 2005 - 2006

    • Charley Powers
  • 2006 - 2007

    • Linda Arnold
  • 2007 - 2008

    • Tom Halbert
  • 2008 - 2009

    • Pete Peterson
  • 2009 - 2010

    • Sam Giammo
  • 2010 - 2011

    • Christine Queen
  • 2011 - 2012

    • Bud Ross
  • 2012 - 2013

    • Mark Foutch
  • 2013 - 2014

    • Mike Cox
  • 2014 - 2015

    • Phil Ratliff
  • 2015 - 2016

    • Clem Gaines
  • 2016 - 2017

    • Larry Clavette
  • 2017 - 2018

    • Judy Bivens
  • 2018 - 2019

    • Art Forster
  • 2019 - 2020

    • Tom Dolney
  • 2020 - 2021

    • Jay DeFrank
  • 2021 - 2022

    • Perry Nouis
  • 2022 - 2023

    • Brett Ashworth


  • 2023 Annual Meeting

    • Perry Nouis
    • Phil Ratliff
    • David MacNamee
  • Communications and Newsletter

    • Dick Cole
  • Development

    • Joe Purka
  • Elections

    • Kathy McCollom
  • Hall of Fame

    • Art Forster
    • Judy Bivens
    • John Dorian
    • Clem Gaines
    • Larry Hill - Musicians Rep
    • Pat Miner - Broadcasters Rep
    • Renee Tyron - Combat Camera Rep
    • Johnny Whitaker
  • Finance

    • Phil Ratliff
    • Hank Hufnagel
    • Jim McGuire
  • Membership

    • Christine Queen
  • Oral History

    • John Gura
  • Public Relations

    • Bud Ross
  • SAF/PA Liaison

    • Lou Timmons
  • Social Media

    • Judy Bivens
  • Website

    • Jim McGuire